Welcome to the Australasian Association of Writing Programs. This website introduces visitors to the Association, and provides information on writing courses, competitions, conferences and other relevant material.

The Association exists to provide a forum for discussion on all aspects of teaching creative and professional writing as well as current theories on creativity and writing, and to improve the quality of programs across the country. To download a brochure, click here.

Become a member today

News & Events

20th AAWP Conference: Writing the ghost train

'Writing the ghost train: rewriting, remaking, rediscovering' will be the theme of the AAWP's 20th conference, hosted by Victoria's Swinburne University of Technology from Saturday 28 November to Tuesday 1 December, 2015.

'Reading and writing, we are at once visceral and ghost-like; in our bodies and out of them; making imagined places real'.
—Martin Edmond

While this conference looks back to twenty years of work carried out in the field of creative writing studies by the Australasian Association of Writing Programs, it also looks forward to that which is ‘in the making’. With the title of this conference, ‘Writing the ghost train,’ we pay homage to Martin Edmond’s keynote address of 2014, ‘riding the ghost train,’ an insightful exploration of the creative drive of one singular writer. We also acknowledge that for the original inhabitants of this land, the white man was once—and perhaps still is—a ghost. As the planet moves, with a grim relentless urgency toward destruction brought on by our own spectral dreams, we also note both history and nature’s examples: destruction makes room for creation. Working by association, linking the real with the imagined, the memory with the artefact, the archive with the avatar, this conference is an invitation to explore what such scholars as Todorov, Genette, Hutcheon, Eco and Kristeva have called hypotext, hypertext, genotext, phenotext, and, more generally, the recontextualisation of narrative and aesthetic motifs.

The focus of the conference will be the question of rewriting, interpreting and adapting texts. ...

Like us! AAWP launches Facebook page

The AAWP has launched its Facebook page, making it easier than ever to keep in touch - just 'Like us'! While there is still a group page for postgraduate discussions, the new Facebook page makes it easy to stay in the loop with conferences, opportunities and developments within the writing discipline and the writing world. To go to the new page, click on the image below. 

Why YA?: Researching, writing and publishing Young Adult fiction

Contributions are sought for a special issue of TEXT Journal entitled 'Why YA?: Researching, writing and publishing Young Adult fiction in Australasia'. The issue seeks to reflect on Australia’s unique scholarly and creative contribution to this dynamic genre, and seeks submissions that address the growing interest in stories for teenage readers, particularly those stories set in and around Australasia. Deadline for initial submission is May 30, 2015. Download full details here.

The Writing Commons: CFP extended to Friday 23 January

The call for papers for 'The Writing Commons: Research and Pedagogy in Writing and Discourse', the Seventh Annual Conference of
the Canadian Association for the Study of Discourse and Writing (CASDW / ACR) has been extended to this Friday, 23 January. The Conference takes places at the University of Ottawa - Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, Saturday, May 30 to Monday, June 1, 2015.

Concession membership

$30.00 for 1 year

Individual Salaried Membership

$60.00 for 1 year

For institutional membership, please enquire at info@aawp.org.au